REVIEW: Honeywell Ademco 5822T Wireless Tilt Sensor Transmitter

The Honeywell 5822T tilt sensor is a easy way to add a wireless sensor to your garage door.

Most homes do not have the garage protected by the alarm system and the bad guys know this. It provides a space for them to work out of sight. They can break into the garage and get to work. If there is a car in the garage, they will take their time to load up the car with loot from the garage and when they are ready, they smash and grab the goods from the house, staying in there just a minute or two, load up the car and drive away before the police arrive.

So it is advised to secure your garage, and this unit is an easy way to add your garage door to you Ademco alarm system.

Features:

  • Honeywell 5800 Series wireless
  • Uses Lithium CR123A 3V battery
  • Dual ball tilt switch
  • 2nd loop input (remote wired contact)
  • Tamper switch
  • Battery supervision
  • Operating Temperature 0°F to +131°F (-17°C to +55°C)

Product Breakdown:

The unit is basic, it has a black plastic rear mounting plate, and a housing. The rear mounting plate attaches to your garage door with screws or double stick tape. The housing splits in half with the circuit board attached to the rear half. The front half clips on to the back and has a protrusion to contact the tamper switch. Everything is black plastic.

The circuit board holds the battery, has an antenna, tamper switch and a 2 post screw terminal for an external loop. There is a red LED that indicates when the unit is transmitting. Next to the LEDs are 2 metal cans. These are the ball sensors. They are soldered on the board at slightly different angles. This is likely to have hysteresis or redundancy. I’m not sure if the sensor uses one to indicate ON and the other to indicate OFF, or if it requires both to be ON to indicate ON. Based on my observation and experience, I would guess it is more of a on/off with hysteresis.

5822t-1

Installation:

The sensor needs to be installed with a vertical orientation. There is an arrow on the front cover that indicates UP. I installed it with small sheetmetal screws into the beam of my garage door. My garage door is a 4 panel  and I installed it on the upper most panel since that panel tilts back first when opening. I used a level to make sure it is vertical on the door, when looking at it.

I programmed this unit with a custom zone in my Ademco Vista panel. I wanted the zone to be a vent zone, with an exit delay and a long entry delay. Otherwise, it is a perimeter zone with those tweaks.

The panel settings for this custom zone is 0, 15, 0 1, 0 5, 0, 6, 6, 6. My worksheet is below.

5822t-2

Once it’s added, you need to enroll the sensor by tilting it from vertical to horizontal, two times. If successful, your keypad will chime.

Testing:

At first, I used only the tilt switches (loop 3) and the sensor worked very well. I have 2 garage doors and installed one unit on each. Over the course of 6 months, I had maybe 2 false alarms due to very windy days and my garage door was shaking pretty hard. The same door that gave me the alarms from wind, also had mis-reported the door being open when it was actually closed, from time to time.

The other sensor would also do this, but only 2-3 times.

On the mis-reported door position, I would have to open the door all the way and then close it to get the correct position. This was mostly a nuisance and it was always noticed.

Being mounted on the top panel of my panel garage door, the panel would transmit zone as open once the panel gets well past 45°, about 60°. This is with 0° being door at the closed position and sensor is vertical. Once open, it would report the zone closed when it gets to about 50°-55°.

Below is a photo of the sensor when it just gets past reporting OPEN. I tested it by manually opening the door slowly, several times.5822t-3

The downside to this angle is the bottom of the door is open almost 21″.

5822t-4

Now, 21 inches is quite a bit of space. More than enough room for the bad guys to get into the garage without much inconvenience. I was not comfortable with this much of a compromise, so I immediately ordered some Seco SM-217Q Normally Open Wide-Gap Magnetic Contacts For Normally Closed Circuits. Then I forgot about the contacts for 5 months.

Finally, I installed the contact sensor on one door for testing. Shown below is the mounting plate. Since I screwed the plate to the door, I needed to notch the lower right corner to allow room for the wire to come in.

5822t-5

I mounted the magnet to the board above the garage door in the interior of the garage. The sensor was screwed to the top of the garage door. I drilled a small hole for the wire to pass thru the structure of the door.

The wire I used was Honeywell 22/2 stranded (part # 110225801).

.5822t-6

These are wide gap contacts, good for 2 inch separation between the magnet and the contact. I used a voltmeter to make sure the sensor was actuating. I also moved it around a bit to make sure I wasn’t on the edge of operation. I found these things will work about 3″ away.

5822t-7 5822t-8

As far as testing the magnetic sensor, this thing would report the zone open when the door was about 1.5″ off the ground. Since the sensor moves up and away along the arc of the door track, it triggers very fast when opening.

REVIEW:

Well, the sensor is about $40 on Amazon, so it’s not too expensive and it’s a simple and cheap way to secure your garage.

Now the tilt sensor is OK, but I wouldn’t recommend using the tilt sensor exclusively, unless you just want to spend as little time as possible getting it installed. I recommend in the long run to use magnetic contact sensors wired into the sensor instead. It is the difference between the alarm going off when the door opens about 2 inches instead of going off when the door is open at 21 inches.

If you go with the magnetic contact sensor, a possible alternative setup would be a wireless sensor like the Honeywell 5815, which can be had for about $24 on Amazon. But these are not rated for the same temperature range as the 5822T, so if your garage gets really cold or really hot, stick with the 5822T.

Based on the few issues I had with 2 false alarms due to wind over the course of 6 months as well as the once-in-a-while false reporting of the door position (reported open, when door was closed), I give this unit 3 stars out of 5. But now that I have the magnetic contacts installed, I’ve had zero false alarms and zero mis-reported door positions, I’d be willing to give it 4 stars. If it was $10 cheaper and they included the wide gap contacts and eliminated the tilt sensors, then I’d give it 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

